The referral that never got logged
Your dentist says it was sent. The plan says it has nothing. Nothing is authorized, nothing is denied, and the clock never starts.
Independent watchdog project. Not affiliated with the State of California, DHCS or Medi-Cal Dental.
Welcome to the first annual i can't smile, CALIFORNIA Dental Awards, honoring the Medi-Cal dental plans that do a truly remarkable amount with a truly remarkable number of specialists.
Seven categories, one for each kind of dentist the State says every plan must have. Two decided. Five still sealed.
Directories last checked . Next check: unannounced.
Programming note
The Los Angeles County ceremony has been postponed until further notice. Tonight's awards cover Sacramento County only, home of the State Capitol and the county where Medi-Cal members must join one of three dental plans, with few exceptions. In Los Angeles County, joining is optional. Los Angeles nominees are asked to keep their acceptance speeches on file.
Tonight's program
One for each kind of dentist on the State's list, in the State's order. Open ones hold a result: choose one and its show and scoreboard take the stage below. Sealed ones are still being counted, and the chips show the standards the State holds each type to.
Your main dentist, for checkups, cleanings, fillings and referrals. The plan assigns you one.
Coming soon. The standards
The inside of the tooth and the tissue around its roots. Root canals.
Coming soon. The standards
Surgery of the mouth, jaws and face, such as difficult extractions and jaw injuries.
Coming soon. The standards
Teeth and bites that do not line up. Braces.
Coming soon. The standards
An older name for pediatric dentistry: care for babies, children and teenagers, including children with special health care needs.
Coming soon. The standards
The gums and the bone that hold teeth in place.
Gold Liberty Dental Plan, 2 periodontists listed
Checked . Watch the show
Replacing missing teeth. Crowns, bridges, dentures.
No winner 0 verified prosthodontists
Checked . Watch the show
The seven types, in this order: DHCS, Medi-Cal Dental Managed Care Methodology Overview, 29 August 2025. A category is won by the plan whose own directory lists the most different specialists of that kind at offices inside Sacramento County, each checked against the federal provider registry. The rules are in the rulebook. Descriptions are our plain summary of the American Dental Association's specialty definitions; primary care dentists as DHCS describes them in its June 2019 certification. The chips on the sealed envelopes are the standards DHCS lists beside each provider type in its 2025 report to the federal government, laid out line by line in the standards table.
Envelope seven, tonight's category
Before the envelope, a short lesson: what a prosthodontist is, why it matters, and how to read a directory listing. Then the show. Click, tap, swipe or use the arrow keys, with the sound on or off.
The scoreboard
Three Sacramento directories, searched for a prosthodontist on 14 September 2026, and checked against the federal provider registry the way the lesson describes.
0
Verified prosthodontists across all three Sacramento directories
551,922
Sacramento County members who must belong to one of the three plans
10
Endodontists Health Net offered when asked for dental prosthetics
3
Names in Liberty's prosthodontist results, each labeled General Dentist first
2,556
Sacramento-area listings in the California Dental Network (DentaQuest) directory file, none of them a prosthodontist
30
Business days a plan has to get an adult member a specialist appointment once the referral is authorized
| Plan | Where and how we searched | What came back |
|---|---|---|
| Health Net | Health Net Medi-Cal dental, adult directory, dentists by specialty, near Sacramento, CA. Prosthodontics is not offered as a specialty, so we chose the closest option, Dental Prosthetics. | 11 dentists: 10 listed as endodontics and 1 as periodontics. Prosthodontists: none. |
| California Dental Network (DentaQuest) | DentaQuest Find a Dentist, Medi-Cal DMC adult plan, within 50 miles of ZIP 95819, looking for a prosthodontics specialty filter. Then its downloadable directory file for the California Medi-Cal DMC adult plan, counted by ZIP code and specialty. | The specialty filter for that plan and area offers nine choices: dental anesthesiology, dental hygienist, denturist, endodontics, general dentistry, oral and maxillofacial surgery, orthodontics, pediatric dentistry and periodontics. Prosthodontics is not one of them. The downloadable file, dated 1 July 2026, has 2,556 listings in ZIP codes beginning 956, 957 or 958, and none is a prosthodontist. All 71 prosthodontist listings in the file are in Southern California. Prosthodontists: none. |
| Liberty Dental Plan | Liberty Medi-Cal dentist search, Medi-Cal GMC/PHP network, specialty prosthodontist, under 50 miles of Sacramento. | 8 listings, 3 names: one dentist at 6 offices, two more at 1 office each, the farthest in Stockton. Every listing says “General Dentist, Prosthodontics” and leaves the board certification field blank. The federal registry lists the dentist at the 6 offices as a general dentist; the other two names, as the directory spells them, returned no dentist in the registry. Verified prosthodontists: none. |
Where this comes from, and who answers for it. Every count above comes from the plans' own public provider directories, which state law and federal Medicaid rules require them to publish (HSC 1367.27; 42 CFR 438.10(h)), checked against the public NPI Registry. The plans publish these directories and answer for what is in them. We are not suggesting any dentist listed has done anything wrong; a general dentist may lawfully make dentures, and the label is the plan's. If you are one of those dentists and your listing is wrong, tell us and we will report it to the plan. Directories change weekly, so run the searches yourself and send us anything different.
On the record
We look again at random, and whenever a reader reports a change. Each check gets a dated row. Old rows stay.
| Checked | Health Net | California Dental Network (DentaQuest) | Liberty Dental Plan | Result | What changed |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 0 | 0 | 0 (3 names, none verified) | No winner | First count. |
Next check: unannounced. Seen a prosthodontist appear in a directory? Tell us.
The part where we get real
The rest of this site is polished. This part is not. It is written for the people this actually happens to, and it says what we actually think. Where we state a rule, we quote it. Where we cannot prove something yet, we say so.
If you are a low-income resident of Sacramento County, you were placed in a Medi-Cal dental plan you did not pick, run by companies owned by insurance giants and a private equity firm, and as of tonight none of the three lists a verified prosthodontist. If you ever need one, the honest odds are that you will not see one through your plan. Not without a fight.
A referral to a specialist the plan does not have puts the plan in an awkward spot, because the rules say it must send you outside its network and pay for it. That is the moment things tend to get strange. The plan may not want to sign a one-time agreement with an outside prosthodontist. It may point you to a community clinic that has no prosthodontist either, then to another. The referral may never make it into the system. You may be treated like a case number and told, warmly, that nothing went wrong. You may have to fight harder for a set of teeth than you have fought for anything in your life.
Here is the part almost nobody tells you. Complaining to the State is your right, and we show you how elsewhere on this site. But the State does not book your appointment. The plan does. The rule that gets you into a chair is this one, from the contract every Medi-Cal dental plan signs with DHCS:
“If Contractor's provider network is unable to provide necessary services, covered under the contract, to a particular Member, Contractor must adequately and timely cover these services out-of-network for the Member, for as long as Contractor's provider network is unable to provide them.”
The next line says the plan must make sure the cost to you is “no greater than it would be if the services were furnished within the network.” The same words sit in federal Medicaid rules, 42 CFR 438.206(b)(4) and (5).
The contract even spells out the mechanics. Where the State has excused a plan from its distance standard for a type of specialist, the plan must help you get an appointment with an out-of-network specialist and “make its best effort to establish a Member-specific case agreement with an Out-Of-Network core Specialist at the Medi-Cal Fee-For-Service rate or a mutually agreed upon rate.” That outside specialist must be able to see you within the same time and distance standards, or the plan must arrange your ride. And once a specialist referral is authorized, an adult member must be offered the appointment within 30 business days.
In plain words: no prosthodontist in the network is the plan's problem to solve, on the plan's clock, at the plan's expense. The State pays each plan a flat amount per member per month whether you get care or not, so every outside referral comes out of that. Draw your own conclusions about the incentive.
DHCS DMC boilerplate contract, 2025: Exhibit A8, sections 5 and 9; Exhibit A11, sections 1, 3.2, 3.4 and 10. How the plans are paid.
Patterns to watch for, described in general terms. They are warnings, not findings about any one plan or person.
Your dentist says it was sent. The plan says it has nothing. Nothing is authorized, nothing is denied, and the clock never starts.
You are sent to a community clinic that has no prosthodontist, then to another that does not have one either. Round and round.
A friendly voice opens a ticket. Nobody calls back. Call again and the ticket cannot be found.
You describe what happened, with dates. The plan says it has no record of your calls. Federal rules say it must keep one.
Some general dentists know exactly what these plans are like. They know you cannot afford to go anywhere else and they know nobody else is coming, so they treat you themselves, as well as they can. Be grateful for those. Others may see something different: three things that could be done in one visit, spread across three visits weeks apart, because every visit bills. If your treatment plan looks like a calendar with no end, ask why.
If you were referred to a prosthodontist while in one of these plans, ask your dentist to help you fight. Ask them to put the referral in writing, into the plan's own system, and to send a copy to the plan's dental director, the one person California law makes answerable for dental decisions being made by qualified people. Keep copies of everything. If nothing comes back in writing, here is what to do.
You know these networks better than your patients ever will. When a patient needs a specialist the plan does not have, put the referral in writing, demand the authorization, and keep demanding it. If a plan answers with pressure, a threat to hold payments, to end your contract, anything, write that down too. The Department of Managed Health Care and DHCS both take documentation from providers, and a dentist's paper trail is much harder to wave away than a patient's word. Enough of those trails, side by side, is what a real enforcement case is built from.
The answers will come. Keep the trail. Stay the course. Be patient with everyone except the deadline.
Before you act on anything here, talk to a professional advisor, the Health Consumer Alliance, or the State departments. This is what we think and how we would fight. It is not legal advice.
Envelope six, awarded
Before the envelope, a lesson with pictures: what a periodontist is, what one actually does to a mouth, why the State says every plan must have them, and how to read a directory that lists the same name fifteen times. Then the show. Click, tap, swipe or use the arrow keys, with the sound on or off.
And the award goes to
Three plans serve Medi-Cal dental managed care members in Sacramento County. Between them, their directories list two periodontists. Not two each. Two. Please hold your applause until all the offices have been read.
Health Net
1 periodontist
Liberty Dental Plan
2 periodontists
With a commanding lead of one periodontist.
California Dental Network (DentaQuest)
1 periodontist
A tie, with a twist
Health Net and California Dental Network (DentaQuest) share silver with one periodontist each. It is the same periodontist. Liberty lists that one too, plus one more that neither of the other plans lists in its Sacramento area search. Bronze was not awarded. There were only three plans.
How we ranked: the number of different periodontists each plan's directory lists at an office inside Sacramento County, where their Sacramento members live. Offices in other counties are counted separately below and do not change the order. This ranks periodontists listed, which is not the same thing as periodontists you can book.
The league table
What each plan's own directory listed on 14 September 2026, and what that works out to per member.
2
periodontists listed in the county
1
periodontist listed in the county
1
periodontist listed in the county
The arithmetic
551,922 Sacramento County members across the three plans, by the State's count for August 2026. Two periodontists listed, as of 14 September 2026. That is one periodontist for every 275,961 members. Plan by plan: Liberty, one for every 145,153. Health Net, one for all 192,121. California Dental Network (DentaQuest), one for all 69,495. The State's own standard for dentists of every kind, general and specialist together, is one for every 1,200 members.
Members: the three rows in the State's Medi-Cal Managed Care Enrollment Report, already filtered to County: Sacramento, Plan Type: Dental, Enrollment Month: 2026-08. The report names the plans Liberty Dental Plan of CA/Sacramento, Health Net Community Solutions/Sacramento, one of Health Net's licensed companies, and California Dental Network/Sacramento. If that link ever stops working, open the report on the State's open data portal, choose Data Table, and set the same three filters. Periodontists and offices: each plan's own directory search on 14 September 2026, settings in the recount, office by office in the map.
On the record
We look again at random, and whenever a reader reports a change. Each check gets a dated row. Old rows stay.
| Checked | Health Net | California Dental Network (DentaQuest) | Liberty Dental Plan | Result | What changed |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | 1 | 2 | Gold: Liberty | First count. Silver shared by Health Net and California Dental Network (DentaQuest), the same periodontist. |
Next check: unannounced. Seen a periodontist appear, or vanish? Tell us.
Named because the plans name them
Where this comes from. Every name, office and detail on this page comes from the plans' own public provider directories, which state law and federal Medicaid rules require them to publish (HSC 1367.27; 42 CFR 438.10(h)). The awards go to the plans, because the plans publish these directories and answer for what is in them. We are not suggesting either dentist has done anything wrong. If you are one of these dentists and a listing is wrong, tell us and we will report it to the plan's directory team.
Listed as a periodontist by all three plans, 39 times in the Sacramento area:
Listed as a periodontist by one plan, 13 times:
Not listed by Health Net or California Dental Network (DentaQuest) in their Sacramento area periodontics searches.
Medi-Cal dental managed care runs in only two of California's 58 counties, Sacramento and Los Angeles. In 55 more, including Placer, El Dorado, San Joaquin, Solano and San Bernardino counties, Medi-Cal dental works through fee-for-service, so nobody who lives in those counties is a member of these plans. The one county left over is San Mateo, which builds dental into its medical plan instead. The directories list offices there anyway.
What the State actually measures is distance from the member's home: a dentist within 10 miles or 30 minutes of where the member lives. That standard counts general dentists and specialists together, so it says nothing about how far a member may have to travel to reach a periodontist. By the directories' own mileage, Stockton and Fairfield are about 40 miles from Sacramento.
Fifteen offices. Seven inside Sacramento County, eight outside it. Numbers match the table below.
| Pin | Office | County | HN | CDN | LDP |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | 3433 Arden Way, Sacramento Sacramento County | Sacramento | K | K | GK |
| 2 | 4010 Truxel Rd, Sacramento Sacramento County | Sacramento | K | K | GK |
| 3 | 7227 29th St, Sacramento Sacramento County | Sacramento | K | K | GK |
| 4 | 6406 Sunrise Blvd, Citrus Heights Sacramento County | Sacramento | K | K | GK |
| 5 | 7803 Madison Ave, Citrus Heights Sacramento County | Sacramento | K | K | GK |
| 6 | 9184 E Stockton Blvd, Elk Grove Sacramento County | Sacramento | K | K | G |
| 7 | 2260 E Bidwell St, Folsom Sacramento County | Sacramento | K | K | GK |
| 8 | 3840 El Dorado Hills Blvd, El Dorado Hills El Dorado County | El Dorado | K | K | GK |
| 9 | 4363 Golden Center Dr, Placerville El Dorado County | El Dorado | K | K | GK |
| 10 | 500 Auburn Folsom Rd, Auburn Placer County | Placer | K | K | G |
| 11 | 4060 Douglas Blvd, Granite Bay Placer County | Placer | K | K | G |
| 12 | 731 Sterling Pkwy, Lincoln Placer County | Placer | K | K | G |
| 13 | 2241 Sunset Blvd, Rocklin Placer County | Placer | K | K | · |
| 14 | 5756 Pacific Ave, Stockton San Joaquin County | San Joaquin | K | K | GK |
| 15 | 1955 W Texas St, Fairfield Solano County | Solano | K | K | · |
Dr Kohnen Dr Gill Not listed. HN is Health Net, CDN is California Dental Network (DentaQuest), LDP is Liberty Dental Plan.
Street addresses as the directories print them, without suite numbers. DentaQuest's search covered 50 miles from ZIP 95819 and Liberty's covered 45 miles from Sacramento. Health Net's directory was searched for periodontics near Sacramento, CA, then for Dr Kohnen by name in El Dorado, Placer, San Joaquin and Solano counties. The Rialto office is left out of this table because it is nowhere near Sacramento.
The fine print on the trophy
Periodontics is on the State's list of provider types every Medi-Cal dental managed care plan must contract with, alongside six others.
DHCS DMC Methodology Overview, 29 August 2025; DHCS 2021 network adequacy certification; DHCS 2025 Network Adequacy and Access Assurances Report.
One dentist for every 1,200 members, and a dentist within 10 miles or 30 minutes of each member's home. Both standards count general dentists and specialists together, so neither says how many periodontists a plan needs.
DHCS DMC Methodology Overview, Tables 1 and 2; Welfare and Institutions Code 14197.
Urgent dental appointments within 72 hours, other appointments within 36 business days, and preventive care within 40 business days. The plan must have “sufficient numbers of network providers” to keep meeting those standards.
California Code of Regulations, title 28, section 1300.67.2.2(c)(6) and (c)(7).
Publish a directory that shows which providers accept new patients, update the online version at least weekly when told something has changed, and give the public a way to report listings that look wrong. Federal rules add each provider's languages and whether the provider will take new members.
DHCS says it surveys every dental managed care plan at least quarterly, contacting plan offices to ask about provider availability and how long it takes to get an appointment.
DHCS DMC Methodology Overview, Secret Shopper Surveys.
The rulebook
One idea judges every award: a plan paid to cover you must have enough dentists, of the right kinds, close enough, soon enough. The legal name is network adequacy. Seven parts below, each one opens. The standards table stays open.
Tap a part to open it. Links from other pages open the right part for you.
A plan's network is the list of dentists it has signed contracts with. As a member you use those dentists, unless the plan sends you somewhere else. The network is adequate when it can really serve everyone enrolled in it.
Federal Medicaid rules make every state that uses managed care write standards for this and enforce them. Each plan has to show the State that its network is “sufficient in number, mix, and geographic distribution to meet the needs of the anticipated number of enrollees in the service area.” The State reviews what the plans send, then gives the federal Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services “an assurance of compliance” for each plan, once a year.
The federal rule lists the kinds of provider a state must set standards for. Pediatric dental is on it by name. For specialists, it leaves the choice to the state: “Specialist (as designated by the State), adult, and pediatric.” So which dental specialists count in California is up to the Department of Health Care Services. Here is what it chose.
Code of Federal Regulations, title 42, section 438.68(a) and (b) and section 438.207(b)(2) and (d).
DHCS writes it plainly in its network methodology: “DMC plans must contract with the following provider types or facilities based on contractual, State, or federal requirements”. Seven follow. In plain words:
| The State's term | What that dentist does |
|---|---|
| Primary care dentists | Your main dentist, for checkups, cleanings, fillings and referrals. Every member is assigned one, and the State counts general dentists as primary care dentists. |
| Endodontics | The inside of the tooth and the tissue around its roots. Root canals. |
| Oral and maxillofacial surgery | Surgery of the mouth, jaws and face, such as difficult extractions and jaw injuries. |
| Orthodontics | Teeth and bites that do not line up. Braces. |
| Pedodontics | An older name for pediatric dentistry: care for babies, children and teenagers, including children with special health care needs. |
| Periodontics | The gums and the bone that hold teeth in place. |
| Prosthodontics | Replacing missing or damaged teeth, from one tooth to all of them: crowns, bridges and dentures. |
The list: DHCS DMC Methodology Overview, 29 August 2025, section B. The descriptions are our plain summary of the American Dental Association's specialty definitions; the association recognizes twelve dental specialties, and the State's list uses six of them. Primary care dentists: DHCS's June 2019 network adequacy certification, which says members are assigned one on joining and that “General Dentists are considered PCDs.”
| Document | Names the specialties? | What it says |
|---|---|---|
| DHCS Methodology Overview, 29 August 2025 | Yes, all seven | Plans “must contract with” them. No number is set for any of them. |
| DHCS network adequacy certifications to the federal government, 2018, 2019, 2020 and 2021 | Yes, the six specialties | A footnote under each plan's specialist count, word for word the same for every plan in every year: “Specialist network is comprised of: endodontists, oral surgeons, orthodontists, pedodontists, periodontists, and prosthodontists.” The summary text of the 2021 edition lists only five, leaving out periodontists. |
| DHCS Network Adequacy and Access Assurances Reports to the federal government, 2022, 2023, 2024 and 2025 | Yes, all seven | Listed beside the State's standards for dentists per member and for appointment times, and from 2024 beside the distance standard too. No counts. |
| Published contract template, 2025 | No | Requires “adult and pediatric Specialists” and sets its minimum by pointing to a state law list of sixteen medical specialties. The details are in the Periodontics awards. |
| Dental All Plan Letters, 2013 to 2023 | No | Of the 125 letters from those years that we read, none lists which specialists a network must include. |
| Welfare and Institutions Code 14197 | No | Gives dental plans their own distance standard and appointment deadlines. Its list of specialists is medical. |
“DMC plans must contract with the following provider types or facilities based on contractual, State, or federal requirements”
The list that follows in the methodology: primary care dentists, endodontics, oral and maxillofacial surgery, orthodontics, pedodontics, periodontics and prosthodontics. DHCS said the same to the federal government in its network adequacy certifications from 2018 to 2021, including the 2021 one, where each plan's specialist network “is comprised of: endodontists, oral surgeons, orthodontists, pedodontists, periodontists, and prosthodontists.” Its reports since 2022 list the same types. So the nominations were easy. On 14 September 2026 we searched each Sacramento plan's own provider directory for periodontists, and wrote down exactly what it said.
In September 2021 DHCS certified to the federal government that its Sacramento plans held 24, 58 and 59 specialists. That is the count under the definition above, the one that includes periodontists and prosthodontists.
Access Dental Plan 24, Health Net 58, Liberty 59, each in a table headed “Contracted Specialists” with the six specialties named in the footnote beneath it. DHCS gives its own source for the figures as the plans' Provider Network Reports of May 2021. It is the last published document we can find that puts a number on any plan's specialist network. The June 2019 certification had put the same three plans at 95, 72 and 72. The reports DHCS has sent Washington for 2022 through 2025 answer yes or no for each plan without counting anybody. The full record is in the rulebook section.
The published contract requires specialists. It never says which ones.
The methodology says these provider types are “outlined in their DMC contract agreement.” The signed contract for each plan is not public. What DHCS publishes is the boilerplate, the template every plan signs, and a signed contract can add to a template, so everything below is about the template and nothing below is a claim about what any plan’s signed copy says. We read the template, all 323 pages. It does require specialists, in Exhibit A8: “Contractor shall maintain an adequate Network that includes adult and pediatric Specialists, and at a minimum, core Specialists as described in Welfare and Institutions Code, Section 14197(h)(2)”. It makes plans “Submit a complete list of specialists by type within Contractor's network.” But it never says which types, and the one place it sets a floor is that cross-reference.
Follow the cross-reference and you leave dentistry altogether. Section 14197 defines a specialist as cardiology, nephrology, dermatology, neurology, endocrinology, ophthalmology, ear nose and throat, orthopedic surgery, gastroenterology, physical medicine and rehabilitation, general surgery, psychiatry, hematology, oncology, pulmonology, and infectious diseases. Sixteen medical specialties. Not one of them is a dental specialty, and the word dentist does not appear anywhere in the section.
The statute is the general network adequacy law for all Medi-Cal managed care, and it was written with dental plans in mind: it sets a dental time and distance standard of ten miles or thirty minutes, and it gives dental plans their own appointment deadlines. The specialist list is the part that was never adapted. So a Sacramento plan is told to contract with periodontists and prosthodontists in a methodology document, while the published template of its contract sets the minimum specialist network by pointing at a list of physicians. Whether any plan’s signed contract adds a dental list, nobody outside DHCS and the plans can see. One detail leans toward a single State definition rather than three negotiated ones: the six-specialty footnote is word for word identical under all three plans, in every certification from 2018 to 2021.
None of this means plans may skip specialists. The same template gives adults a specialist appointment within 30 business days of an authorized referral, and state law gives children one within 30 calendar days. It orders plans to provide “a record/tracking mechanism for each authorized, denied, or modified referral”, to “offer second opinions by specialists to any Member upon request”, and to file a Specialty Referral Report twice a year showing “how many referrals were made per month to specialists with the detail for each referral, timeliness of receipt and review, and the result of each referral”. The referral clocks, the tracking and the reports all assume the specialists are there. The gap is narrower and stranger than a missing requirement: nothing public tells a plan which kinds of dental specialist it must have, except the methodology and the State's own reports to Washington.
DHCS, Dental Managed Care Network Adequacy Certification, prepared for the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services, September 2021, Attachments A, B and C, Figure 4 in each. DMC boilerplate contract, 2025, Exhibit A8, Section 5 and its deliverables list, item 5; Exhibit A11, Section 2.5, specialty services and the Specialty Referral Report, and the specialist appointment standard in the same exhibit. Welfare and Institutions Code section 14197: the specialist definition, the dental time and distance standard and the dental appointment deadlines. The definition sat at subdivision (h)(2) when the section was enacted in 2017, which is the subdivision the contract still cites; later amendments moved it to (i)(2) without changing the list.
DHCS says its yearly review checks four things: “Provider to Member Ratios”, “Mandatory Provider Types”, “Time or Distance” and “Timely Access”. Here is what each one asks of a plan.
One full-time primary care dentist for every 2,000 members, and one full-time dentist of any kind, general or specialist, for every 1,200. Each dentist counts once, however many offices list them. In DHCS's words, “each unique provider is only factored in once in the ratio”.
Contract template, 2025, Exhibit A8, section 3; Methodology Overview, Table 2; 2019 certification, footnote 1.
A contract with each of the seven types above. No number is attached to any of them, and DHCS told the federal government so itself, in each certification from 2019 to 2021: “While there are no established ratios for dental specialties delineated in either federal or state laws, DHCS evaluated the specialist network for each DMC plan.”
2019, 2020 and 2021 certifications, Specialist Network and Out-of-Network Access; 2024 network certification summary.
A dentist within 10 miles or 30 minutes of the member's home. DHCS maps members and offices once a year, ZIP code by ZIP code. A plan that cannot meet it somewhere, after trying every reasonable way to sign dentists closer, can ask DHCS for an exception, called an alternative access standard. An approved exception lasts three contract years.
Welfare and Institutions Code 14197; Methodology Overview, Alternative Access Standard Requests; 2025 report, analysis methods.
Routine and preventive appointments within 4 weeks. Emergencies within 24 hours. A specialist within 30 business days of an authorized referral for adults, and 30 calendar days for children. DHCS checks with secret shopper calls, but for 2024 it wrote that it is “not including the results” in its federal report. The Department of Managed Health Care, which licenses the plans, runs its own clocks; see the fine print on the trophy.
2025 report, standards 3 to 6; 2021 certification, Figure 3; 2024 network certification summary, Timely Access.
Straight from the 2025 report
DHCS's 2025 report to the federal government lists each dental standard with the provider types it covers. The six specialties sit beside primary care dentists on most lines, prosthodontists and periodontists included.
| The standard | Primary care dentists | The six specialties | How DHCS checks it |
|---|---|---|---|
| 30 minutes from a member's home | Yes | Yes | Mapping |
| 10 miles from a member's home | Yes | Yes | Mapping |
| Seen within 4 weeks | Yes | No | Secret shopper calls |
| Seen within 30 business days, adults | No | Yes | Secret shopper calls |
| Seen within 30 calendar days, children | No | Yes | Secret shopper calls |
| Seen within 24 hours, emergency | Yes | Yes | Secret shopper calls |
| One full-time primary care dentist for every 2,000 members | Yes | No | Directory review |
| One full-time dentist of any kind for every 1,200 members | Yes | Yes | Directory review |
DHCS, 2025 Network Adequacy and Access Assurances Report, tab II, Program-level standards: the rows Specialty details, Standard type, Standard description and Analysis method. Every row that covers the specialties names them: “Endodontists, Oral and Maxillofacial Surgeons, Orthodontists, Pedodontists, Periodontists, and Prosthodontists”. The 2024 report lists the same, numbered differently. Neither report counts anyone.
Until 2021, DHCS sent Washington a written certification each year with numbers in it, including a count of each plan's specialists. From the 2022 contract year it switched to a federal form, the Network Adequacy and Access Assurances Report. None of the reports DHCS has sent Washington since has counted anybody, and no published report since has counted specialists.
| Certification | Access Dental Plan | Health Net | Liberty Dental Plan |
|---|---|---|---|
| June 2018, from plan reports of March 2018 | 55 for 136,500 members | 67 for 129,289 members | 67 for 162,191 members |
| June 2019, from February 2019 | 95 for 129,048 members | 72 for 126,887 members | 72 for 163,269 members |
| August 2020, from March 2020 | 30 for 122,066 members | 50 for 127,369 members | 50 for 162,842 members |
| September 2021, from May 2021 | 24 for 140,215 members | 58 for 152,656 members | 59 for 183,148 members |
| 2022 to 2025 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
Each count covers all six specialties together, with each dentist counted once. Member numbers are the ones printed beside each plan's dentist ratio in the same report. California Dental Network (DentaQuest) joined in July 2025, after the counting stopped. The outside review described below prints each plan's total dentists for 2023, with no specialist count, and its totals are five to eight times the 2021 ones: Liberty, for example, 1,385 dentists for 215,479 Sacramento members, against 243 in 2021. Figure 4 of each plan's attachment in the 2018, 2019, 2020 and 2021 certifications; members from Figure 1.
The certifications record more than counts.
2018 certification; closure letters to Health Net and Liberty, 17 September 2018; 2019 certification, Network Capacity.
| Year covered | DHCS's answer | Exceptions it listed for Sacramento |
|---|---|---|
| 2022 | Health Net and Liberty in Sacramento: “Yes, the plan complies based on all analyses”. Access Dental Plan in Sacramento: “No, the plan does not comply based on all analyses”, because of “members in two zip codes in Sacramento County which must travel more than 10 miles or 30 minutes”. | Health Net and Liberty, each approved in July 2021. Access Dental Plan: “None”, and DHCS asked it on 2 June 2023 for a revised request. |
| 2023 | Access Dental Plan, Health Net and Liberty in Sacramento: “Yes, the plan complies based on all analyses”. | “None”, for each of the three. |
| 2024 | Access Dental Plan, Health Net and Liberty, now one answer per plan for both counties: “Yes, the plan complies based on all analyses”. | None listed. DHCS's own summary for the year says it approved one for Liberty in two ZIP codes, Rio Vista (94571) and Isleton (95641), and gives Liberty's reasons as “providers not accepting new payors, providers not wanting to participate in Medi-Cal, or the plan rates being too low.” |
| 2025 | Access Dental Plan, discontinued on 1 July 2025, and California Dental Network (DentaQuest), Health Net and Liberty: “Yes, the plan complies based on all analyses”. | None listed. |
DHCS Network Adequacy and Access Assurances Reports: 2022 (the combined workbook, dental tab), 2023, submitted 28 June 2024, 2024, submitted 1 October 2025, and 2025, submitted 30 June 2026. 2024 Dental Managed Care Annual Network Certification Executive Summary, 29 August 2025. All are linked from the DHCS Network Adequacy page. The reports are spreadsheets; the answers are in the plan compliance tabs.
4
Plans DHCS told Washington complied with every standard in 2025
0
Numbers in the 2025 report behind those answers. The boxes for dentist counts, travel times and ratios were optional, and every one is blank.
7
Kinds of dentist the 2025 report lists beside its standards, prosthodontists included
When someone outside DHCS checked
For calendar year 2023, the State's external quality reviewer, Health Services Advisory Group, checked the dental plans' network numbers and published its findings in April 2025. It ran the distance test twice, once for general practices and once for specialty practices, ZIP code by ZIP code. It found that “at the county level, Dental MC plans did not meet the required time or distance standards”.
In Sacramento, every plan fell short for specialists in some of the small towns in the south of the county: Isleton, Walnut Grove, Courtland, Herald and Wilton among them. Exceptions DHCS had approved covered most of those gaps. Not all: in Courtland (95615), neither Health Net, for its child members, nor Liberty met the distance standard or the requirements for an exception. The reviewer adds that it “did not audit DHCS’ AAS methodology or results.”
For the same year, DHCS told Washington that each Sacramento plan complied “based on all analyses”. In the line for exceptions, which the form says to fill in with “None” if there are none, it wrote “None.”
DHCS, Medi-Cal Dental Managed Care External Quality Review Technical Report, Contract Year 2023 to 24, Volume 2, Validation of Network Adequacy, prepared by Health Services Advisory Group, April 2025: Tables 11, 15 and 19 for Sacramento by ZIP code, Table 21 and page 44 for the county results. 2023 Network Adequacy and Access Assurances Report, dental tab, items II.C.2.a and II.C.2.f.
When the network comes up short, the plan still owes you the care. If no dentist in the network can provide a covered service, the rules say the plan must cover it outside the network, on time, at no extra cost to you. How that works, and how to push for it, is in the next section.
Recount the votes
Directories change, sometimes weekly. Here is exactly what we searched on 14 September 2026, so you can check whether the winners have been busy recruiting.
We check again at random, and whenever someone reports a change. Each open envelope keeps its own record: prosthodontics and periodontics. The prosthodontics search settings are in the scoreboard.
| Plan | Where to search | Settings we used |
|---|---|---|
| Health Net | Health Net Medi-Cal dental | Medi-Cal adult directory, dentists by specialty, periodontics, near Sacramento, CA. Then Dr Kohnen by name in El Dorado, Placer, San Joaquin and Solano counties. |
| California Dental Network (DentaQuest) | DentaQuest Find a Dentist | Medi-Cal DMC adult, periodontics, within 50 miles of ZIP 95819 |
| Liberty Dental Plan | Liberty Medi-Cal dentist search | Medi-Cal GMC/PHP network, periodontist, within 45 miles of Sacramento |
Got a different result? Or called one of these offices and could not get in to see a periodontist? Tell us. For how provider directories go wrong more generally, NoSuchProvider.org tracks ghost networks.
Show your work
Everything stated as fact on this page traces to one of these. If you find an error, tell us and we will correct it.
Questions members ask
Real questions about getting to a specialist on a Medi-Cal dental plan, answered plainly. Where a rule applies, we link to the page on this site that quotes it.
Through a referral. Your primary care dentist, the one the plan assigned you, refers you. The plan authorizes it. Then the plan has to get you the appointment: for an adult, within 30 business days of the authorized referral; for a child, within 30 calendar days.
The decision on the referral runs on its own clock: 5 business days for a routine request, 72 hours for an urgent one, and a letter to you within 2 business days of the decision. A missed deadline counts as a denial you can appeal. The clocks, with the rules behind them.
Not by itself. A directory listing says the plan has signed up that dentist at that office. It does not say who will be in the room on the day of your appointment.
In Sacramento, the three plans' directories list two periodontists between them, at fifteen offices, and the same two names appear at address after address. See the map. Treat a listing as a lead, not a promise, and get the name of the person you are booked with.
Yes. It happens. A specialist may visit an office only some days a month. A front desk may book you with whoever is in that day. A general dentist may do the work while the specialist “oversees” it from somewhere else, or not at all.
A general dentist is allowed to do many of the same procedures, dentures included, so nothing in the office stops it. What stops it is you: a referral and an authorization that say specialist, and a name on paper that you check against the person who walks in.
Three things: the specialist's name, the specialist's NPI number, and the office where you will be seen. Ask the plan for its authorization letter with the specialist named on it, or ask the clinic to confirm it by email, text, portal message or on the appointment card.
One sentence does the job: “Please confirm in writing the name and NPI of the specialist I am scheduled to be treated by on that date.” If nobody will put a name on paper, that tells you something. Keep the confirmation with your referral.
An NPI is the ten digit National Provider Identifier that every dentist who bills a health plan has. The federal NPI Registry is free and public: type the name, and it shows the dentist's listed practice location and the specialty the dentist declared, called a taxonomy, such as Periodontics, Prosthodontics or General Practice.
It is what the dentist told the government, not a license check, but it is the quickest way to see whether the person named is a specialist at all. It is how this page checked the prosthodontist listings.
Ask, before anything starts. “Are you Dr Smith?” and “Are you the periodontist?” are normal questions, and a real specialist will not mind them; they spent three extra years earning the title. Read the badge, or the name on the door. If the answer is no, you can stop, say you were authorized to see a specialist, and reschedule.
Afterward, two records name the dentist who treated you: your treatment record, which the treating dentist signs, and the claim the office sends your plan, which carries the treating dentist's name and NPI. You have a right to both. How to ask, and how long they have.
Write down the date, the office, and the names of everyone who treated you or told you who would. Then, in this order:
The specialist care the plan authorized is still owed to you. Being seen by someone else does not use it up.
A plan can change or deny a request, but it has to do it in writing, with the reason, the rule it relied on and how to appeal, and a dentist has to stand behind the decision. “The general dentist can do it” is a decision, and you can appeal it. Who decides, and what has to be in writing.
If the real reason is that the plan has nobody of that specialty, see the next question. It cannot send you back to the general dentist because its network is short.
Then the plan must send you outside its network and pay for it, on time, at no extra cost to you. Its contract with the State says so, and so do federal Medicaid rules. The contract even spells out the mechanics: an agreement with an outside specialist at the Medi-Cal fee-for-service rate, within the same time and distance standards, or a ride to get there.
That is the moment things tend to get strange, so read the part where we get real before you make the call.
Not while you are in a managed care plan. Outside the plan's network, without an authorization, the plan will not pay. There are two doors: ask the plan for an out-of-network authorization, as above, or, in Sacramento County, ask the State for a Beneficiary Dental Exception if you cannot get the appointments you need. In Los Angeles County, joining a plan is optional in the first place. How the two counties differ.
Not legal, medical or dental advice. The rules above are quoted and linked on the pages this section points to. Before you act, talk to a professional advisor, the Health Consumer Alliance, or the State departments.
If you were referred to a specialist your plan could not provide, or a directory sent you to an office that could not see you, we want to hear about it.
The Wisdom Tooth
A guide to every page of this site
A small language model that answers from this site's own pages. It can be wrong or out of date, it is not legal, medical, dental or benefits advice, and this site keeps no record of your chat.